Group Management
This article covers additional settings you can enable for your firm to further limit visibility of projects and contacts and to group your users and clients to set specific permissions.
📝 Note: These options are not enabled by default. Please contact Support to turn on these features!
🏋️ Account Owner
This new top-level role can be applied to specific users. Once you enable this feature and assign an Owner, only they can manage permissions.
⚙️ Accessing the Settings
1. Click on the Profile menu.
2. Click on Organization Settings.
3. Click on Group Management.

🔐 Access Groups / Role-Based Access Control (RBAC)
Access groups apply their permission restrictions to every member. If a profile-level restriction is higher than the set role, the profile-level restriction still applies.
1. Inside Access Groups (RBAC) you can see any existing groups. For the current example below, we have none. Click Create Access Group to set one up!

2. Set a name for the access group!
3. Add the restrictions available to the group.
4. Add members to the group to apply those restrictions by clicking the field next to their name.
5. Click Create Access Group or Cancel.

Once the Group is created, you will see it in the main dashboard, where you can edit the Access Group's existing permissions or delete it!

📥 Team Roles
📘 Tip: You need to create Team Roles before trying to create Watcher Teams.
Team Roles are specific, named fields in a Team that users can fill in. For example: Preparer, Reviewer, Partner. Only one user can be assigned to each Role in a Project.
-
Add the name of a new role here.
-
Once you enter the name, click Add Role to create it.
-
For each role, you can drag and drop to reorder it.
-
This order will refresh across Projects.
-
-
Click Save if you make any changes to the existing name.
-
Click Delete to remove a role from your current list and all attached Projects.

Applying the Team Roles
-
Inside a Project, click on Manage Watchers in the upper right.
-
Next to each Team Role, click the drop-down and select the user to add.
-
For general Watchers, search and click Add to add them to the Project without assigning them a Team Role.

👥 Teams
Once you assign roles inside a Project, they appear in the Teams tab.
-
To update teams in bulk, use the import feature.
- Click Download CSV Template to get a full list of all current Projects.
- The export will include Project ID, Project Name, and a separate column for each Team Role you have.
- Place the email address of the user you want to assign to the Role into the correct column.
- Once finished, click Choose File to attach the completed file, then click Import to begin the process.
-
The Name of the team is set based on the Project it is attached to.
-
Members are listed in this column. Hover to see more information!
-
When the Team was created.
-
You can click Edit to open the details below, or click Delete to remove the group!

When you click Edit, you can adjust the Group.
1. The Team Name is a static field used as a reference.
2. Add or remove members.
3. Click Save Changes to complete, or Cancel to revert changes and return.

🛅 Client Groups
Client Groups assign users to specific clients, and you can apply a restriction so that only those users can see items attached to those clients.
1. Click Create Client Group to create a new group (more below).
2. The name of any existing Client Group.
3. The Flags column indicates whether the group is Restricted, which prevents outside views of attached clients.
4. The Members column outlines the current members of the group.
5. If any clients are attached to the group, they're listed here.
6. You can click Edit to open the dialogue of the group (more below) or click Delete to remove the group.

Adding or Editing Client Groups
1. Add a name for the group!
2. Check Restricted to hide the clients from all other users outside the Group.
3. Add Members to the group by checking the box next to their names.
4. Click Update Client Group to add or update the Group, or Cancel to stop your changes.
5. Any clients currently in this group will be listed here!

Adding Clients to Contact Groups
In Bulk
1. In the Entities page, select one or more via the checkboxes on the left.
2. Click Actions to open the drop-down menu.
3. Select Add to Client Group.

4. In the window that opens up, select an existing Client Group.
5. Click Add to Group to add your selected Entities to the Client Group!

Per Record
In Entities, click to open an individual Entity record.
1. In the field under the Entity name, click on Edit.

2. Select the level of restriction. If it is not restricted, you don't need to take further action. If you select Restrict to a named list of people, the options below become available.
3. Select an existing group, or select the button next to New restricted group name to create a new one and give it a name.
4. If creating a new group, select the users you want to add to the Group who can see the client.
5. Previous Client Groups attached will display here!
6. Click Save to add the Entity to the Client Group, or Cancel to halt your work.
